Chemistry: Challenges and Solutions – Production Credits:

The Science Media Group (SMG) was founded by Dr. Matthew H. Schneps at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (CfA) to investigate new ways to use television and computer media to communicate science to the public at large. A part of the CfA's Science Education Department, the SMG has grounded its work in state-of-the-art science education research.

The most recent SMG production was **Neuroscience and the Classroom: Making Connections**—a course to help teachers learn to use research to create their own solutions to their particular classroom challenges. Other recent SMG productions were **Physics for the 21st Century**, a course for high school physics teachers and undergraduate students exploring the frontiers of physics; and **The Habitable Planet: A Systems Approach to Environmental Science**, a course for high school teachers and undergraduate students in environmental science. Created in partnership with the Harvard University Center for the Environment and Annenberg Learner (then Annenberg Media), The Habitable Planet received the 2010 AAAS Science Prize for Online Resources in Education (SPORE).

Other pioneering works created by the SMG are videos, such as **A Private Universe**, influential in shaping education reform worldwide; television programs, such as the PBS series *Minds of Our Own*, designed to alert the public to issues of science learning; and television, museum, Internet, and computer materials for children, parents, and teachers.

Project Development

Executive Director

Matthew H. Schneps

Executive Producer

Alex Griswold

Education Coordinator

Nancy Finkelstein

Course Developer

Christopher Morse

Project Administrator

Linda P. Williamson

Series Credits

Project Advisors

Karen Atkinson

Chris Bauer

Adam Brunet

Noah Finkelstein

Myriam Hibbard

Mary Kirchhoff

Paul Konowicz

Laurie Langdon

Robert Miller

Louisa Morrison

Daniel Rosenberg

Wolfgang Rueckner Kimberly Stieglitz

Writers

Karen Atkinson Adam Brunet Louisa Morrison Christopher Morse Thomas van Geel Jenny Weeks

Copy Editor

Linda Walsh

Reading Level Specialist

Ellen Lewis

Course Evaluation

Lisa Allen
Bill Bowers
Mary Christian-Madden
Chris Koutros
Mia Mitoma
Dick Moran
Lois K. Ongley
William Palmer
MaryJac Reed
Kathy Siok
Ruth Tanner

Website

Designer

Shira Fruchtman

Martin Isaks

Developers

Shira Fruchtman Michelle Hardy Kennedy

Programmers

Aladdin Ibrahim Michelle Hardy Kennedy

Production Assistants

Diana Eastman Grace Hewett Ruthann Hewett

Interactive Labs

Designers

Shira Fruchtman Michelle Hardy Kennedy

Programmer

Aladdin Ibrahim

Interactive Researcher

Alex Griswold

Writer/Coordinator

Susan Sunbury

Production Assistant

Erin Braswell

Interactive Advisors

Carol Lund

Peter G. Weyand

Course Guide

Writers

Karen Atkinson Louisa Morrison

Thomas van Geel

Teacher Review

Nancy Finkelstein

Copy Editor

Nancy Finkelstein

Editors

Lauren Farrer Nancy Finkelstein

Video Production

Senior Producer | Videographer

Clive Grainger

Producer | Videographer

Tobias McElheny

Senior Editor | Producer

Steven J. Allardi

Editors | Producers

L. Neal Duffy

Keri Green

Associate Producers | Videographers

Lauren Farrer

Molly Wasser

Editor

Oren Bendavid-Val

Online Editor

Maria Kobrina

Animator

Rachel D'Erminio

Production Assistant | Videographer

Teresa Hartmann

Music

Ben Cosgrove Alison Plante—Treble Cove Music

Narrator

Anna Lewicke

Hosts

Adam Brunet
Catherine L. Drennan
Nicole Labbe
Michael McCarthy
Christopher Morse
Mala Radhakrishnan
Ainissa Ramirez
David Song
Elizabeth Vogel Taylor
Wilton L. Virgo