Teacher resources and professional development across the curriculum

Teacher professional development and classroom resources across the curriculum

Monthly Update sign up
Mailing List signup


Disciplinary Literacy

What Is Disciplinary Literacy?

Literacy Development

Model 1: Stages of Reading Development
Several researchers in the field of literacy have developed models illustrating the process of learning to read through the grades. Jeanne Chall proposed a model of stages of reading development (1983) that identifies a progression of skill development from pre-reading through college. According to this model, children in grades 1 through 3 learn letter–sound relationships, build a sight vocabulary (words recognized immediately without sounding them out), and acquire basic strategies like automaticity and fluency that support their comprehension of text. In the intermediate and middle school years, students learn strategies and skills that develop vocabulary and support making deeper inferences about textual information, author use of language, purpose, and perspective. During the high school years, students read widely and deeply across a variety of complex texts to analyze and critically evaluate multiple viewpoints, develop perspectives, and identify and support their stances.

Review this chart of Chall's model of stages of reading development [PDF].

Reflect: From your perspective, is this linear model of literacy development portrayed by Chall supported by your observations of students with whom you have worked?