Teacher resources and professional development across the curriculum

Teacher professional development and classroom resources across the curriculum

Monthly Update sign up
Mailing List signup
Interactives -- United States History Map Pick another interactive:


Next: Play the European Colonies Challenge

Thirteen Colonies


In 1776, the thirteen British colonies along the East Coast of North America broke their ties with Great Britain and declared independence as the United States of America. Although much of the continent was still claimed by the British, French, Spanish, and Russians, these thirteen colonies — Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia — would later become the nation's first thirteen states.

In 1783, after a long and bloody war between Great Britain and its former colonies — the American Revolution — the United States of America was recognized as a sovereign nation. The modern states we know today began to emerge.

Map of the Thirteen Colonies

Home | Catalog | About Us | Search | Contact Us | Site Map |

© Annenberg Foundation 2016. All rights reserved. Legal Policy